Author Interview Redfern Book Tour

Standard

Q: How long have you been writing?

 

A: I’ve been writing since about the age of twelve or thirteen, but I haven’t always finished what I started and my writing wasn’t always as developed as it is now. The last fifteen years or so have seen me take a leap forward and even make some headway in competitions. I finally decided to write a book in 2011 which I published as ‘Threshold Shift’ on Amazon and then Hunter No More’ followed in 2014, initially under a publisher and then by me again. Finally I published ‘Redfern’ in 2016. It’s safe to say I don’t writing easy, but I do find it rewarding.

 

Q: Is this book part of a series?

 

A: None of my books form part of a series but there is a loose linking theme of being set in the same universe with an emerging future history. The AIs have taken over the Earth and human beings are colonising other planets under the supervision of the AI Hierarchy. I do pose questions about how ‘Machine Minds’ progress and deal with humanity but I also have a few alien species in the mix as well. Overriding everything is just the desire to create a good thriller that will keep the reader interested in the characters and invested in the story.

 

Q: What did you find the most challenging about writing your book?

 

A: Just getting down the first draft, which is proving more difficult as time goes on because I have a young family which takes precedence. Once the first draft is done, no matter how long it takes, the real nitty gritty is in the rewrites and the editing where the story can really be pounded into shape. That’s where you can really work on the form and the style and correct what are probably a multiple of mistakes, word omissions and remove all the flowery writing I do when I think I’m being clever.

 

Q: Which aspect of writing do you enjoy the most?

 

A: Definitely not the first draft. What I enjoy the most is when the characters begin speaking and acting for themselves and the story tells itself. There always come a point where the novel has a life of its own and you don’t know where it’s going, you’re just riding it and waiting to see where you go. That’s the exciting part about writing a novel. You start with a plot but inevitably the people inhabiting your creation have ideas of their own.

 

Q: Do you have any works in progress?

 

A: I have an idea for a new sci fi novel still set in my future history but exploring a different aspect of alien life. I also have an idea for a more earthbound novella, but we’ll see what happens. Like I said before, first drafts are hard, but I think once you write that first book, you know you can do it, and no matter how long it takes, it will get done.

 

About the Book

Title: Redfern

Author: Gary Tinnams

Genre: Science Fiction

“Humans don’t project past their own frequency. It’s why you’re so isolated as a species. The beings of other frequencies can only witness what you build and feel what you destroy.”

Earth – Tomorrow – The Singularity:-

The machines have taken over and mankind is cast out.

Millennia later, the inhospitable planet of Redfern is in the process of being made habitable for the proposed rebirth of the entire human race. All is proceeding as planned until Enforcer, Ted Holloway, witnesses the unexpected appearance of a long dead and former friend – A man who can become invisible and immaterial, a man that can penetrate any and all security.

A man whose very existence should be impossible.

As Ted and his superior, Lisa Carmichael, investigate further, they face dangers and creatures that challenge their very concept of reality and also encounter the colony’s caretaker Machine Mind and the human Security Commissioner, both of whom have opposing and intricate agendas of their own.

For the true nature of Redfern is stranger and more deadly than anything Holloway or Carmichael can possibly imagine.

And it could change or destroy humanity forever…

 

Author Bio

I have been reading and watching science fiction since I was old enough to watch Peter Davison walking around an unrealistic jungle set in Doctor Who. The first set of sci-fi books I ever read was The Tripods trilogy by John Christopher without ever having watched the resultant TV series. The Tripods were scary.

Over the years I’ve come to love a variety of science fiction and fantasy books from many different eras and so came to the conclusion that I wanted to create my own adventures, set in my own worlds, with characters that acted and felt like real people. My third novel ‘Redfern’ is an adventure story which poses question about alien first contact, artificial intelligence, the singularity and the continued survival of our species at any cost.

“If you love your science fiction on the cinematic side but also want big ideas, intelligently explored, look no further.”

 

Links

Website
Amazon US Print

Amazon US Kindle

Author Page
Amazon UK Print

Amazon UK Kindle

Author Page

 

Amazon.ca Print

Amazon.ca Kindle

 

Facebook

Twitter: @GDTinnams

Leave a Reply

