Author Interview The Great Connection

Standard

greatconnectionbanner

How long have you been writing? 

I’ve been seriously writing since my late twenties (7 years ago) when I first tried to write a novel and realised I needed to get better! Before that I had written various things on and off, but it was sporadic and undisciplined. I enrolled in a creative writing course when I was 28 and that really taught me just how much graft and craft is needed to be a serious writer. Even though I finished (and passed) the courses, I still feel like I am learning with every new word I type, and I hope I always will be.

What was the most challenging part about writing THE GREAT CONNECTION? 

It was my first full length novel, having previously published a collection of short stories, so therefore I really had to work on planning and pacing the plot without compromising the flow of the book.

Short stories are often like ‘scenes’ that can be open ended, but in a novel I think you really want the complete experience. Even in a series of books, each instalment has character and plot arcs that ideally, should resolve, at least to a certain extent. So I worked a lot on that in this draft, and that led to some quite major additions and revisions in the final drafts.

What do you enjoy the most about being an author? 

I like turning my ideas into stories that I can share with other people. The writing process itself might be solitary, but I like knowing that someone, somewhere, is experiencing something that I created, and hopefully enjoying it.

Is this book part of a series? 

Potentially. I set off to write a novel, based around a concept, but the world that grew out of it could easily host more stories. However, I would only really do it if I felt readers wanted more and I could find another story I wanted to tell in that setting (I have some ideas!).

Do you have any works in progress? 

I am about half way through the first draft of my third book, working title ‘Transported!’. It is a science fiction comedy about teleportation machines and the afterlife! I’ve never written anything like if before and I am really enjoying the drafting process. It is stand alone, but does feature a character introduced in some of my earlier short stories.

About the Book

great-connection-high-resolutionTitle: The Great Connection: Worlds in Waiting

Author: Garry Abbott

Genre: Science Fiction

Following an unfortunate incident involving a delivery drone, a fishing net, and a very tall tree; Raif Masters finds himself forced by his overprotective alpha parents to spend his last school holiday exploring extraterrestrial worlds in ‘The Great Connection’: a real-time simulation of the observable universe, rendered into virtual reality home entertainment.

But Raif, a “child of three”, is not alone. Terry, bound to the service of the Masters family, is looking forward to a very early retirement after one last summer looking after his young charge.

Together they meet Cinder, a fellow simunaught who is seeking a crew to share a secret discovery from the other side of the galaxy that could change the life of the Masters, and the future of the Earth, forever.

But are some discoveries best left unconnected?

Author Bio

picture0044Garry Abbott is a science fiction author from Staffordshire in the UK where he lives with his wife and two cats.

Garry has published the short story collection ‘The Dimension Scales and Other Stories’, and his first full length space opera novel: ‘The Great Connection: Worlds in Waiting’. He is currently working on his third title, a sci-fi comedy, working title: ‘Transported’.

As well as writing science fiction, Garry has regularly contributed topical comedy sketches for the BBC and produced scripts for community arts productions and performances.

Garry’s influences include Isaac Asimov, Philip K. Dick, Ursula K. Le Guin, Terry Pratchett, Douglas Adams, Philip Pullman, George R. R. Martin and Dennis Potter.

Links

Amazon UK

Amazon US

Smashwords

B&N

Kobo

 

Author links:

Goodreads

Amazon.co.uk Author Page

Amazon.com Author Page

Website

Leave a Reply

