Author Interview with L.A. Kelley

Standard

rimriderbanner

How long have you been writing?

            I’ve written stories since I was old enough to chew on a number two pencil, but never used to let anyone read them. Then a few years ago, someone found out I wrote and encouraged me to publish. Actually, she snuck up behind while I typed, read over my shoulder, and shouted in my ear, “Hey, this is good.”  Nearly gave me heart attack. I started submitting manuscripts to publishers and received my first contract in 2013.

            What was the most challenging part about writing RIMRIDER?

            The most challenging part of writing any novel is when you read the rough draft and it reminds you of your naked body in the mirror. Despite good intentions, you end up with all that sagging junk in the middle no one wants to see. Then it’s back to the editing desk so the story maintains an even pace from beginning to end, and the reader doesn’t lose interest. Good editing and tight writing have to keep them turning the page (or scrolling the ebook.)

            Since Rimrider is the first book in series, it also has more characters than I generally use. I had to keep detailed notes on individuals, places, and plot points to maintain continuity through the series. Since the action is on another planet, I also have made-up words for things such as local plant and animal life. I maintain an up-to-date spreadsheet. Without it, I’d be lost and readers would wonder why the character called John on page 27 suddenly became Jon on page 188 with no explanation.

What do you enjoy the most about being an author?

            Working in my schlub clothes and not having to shave my legs. Also, if a call comes in from an annoying old poot, I can let it go to voicemail. Can’t do that in an office. Booyah.

Is this book part of a series?

            Yes. The second book, Outlaw Jane, is out now. The third, The Boneyard, will be released in 2017.  I have at least two more planned after that.

Do you have any works in progress?

            I just submitted a manuscript for a new novel to my publisher and hope to hear back soon. This one is an urban fantasy ghost story about a psychologist and police detective hunting a murderer with help from someone in the hereafter. I hadn’t written a ghost story before and it was a lot of fun.

About the Book

Rimrider cover lakelley-300dpi-3125x4167Title: Rimrider

Author: L.A. Kelley

Genre: YA Space Opera

Teenager Jane Benedict is awakened by her father and ordered to memorize a mysterious code. Hours later, Mathias Benedict is dead and Jane and her brother, Will, are wards of United Earth Corporation. To evade the company’s murderous clutches and uncover the meaning of her father’s last message, Jane leads Will on a desperate escape across the galaxy aboard the Freetrader smuggler ship, Solar Vortex. Tangled in the crew’s fight against UEC, Jane saves the life of young smuggler Maclan Sawyer and learns her father’s code identifies a secret cargo shipment that can spell doom for the entire Freetrader cause and the extinction of an alien race.

                Piracy, intrigue, romance, and a daring rebellion from Earth wait on the planet Rimrock. Will Jane answer the call to adventure and find new purpose on the galactic rim or will death for high treason be her fate?

Author Bio

I’m the author of seven fantasy and science fiction adventure novels with smart female characters more comfortable with thinking rather than shooting their way out of a tricky situation. Rimrider is the newest and the first book in the Rimrock Adventures series. The second, Outlaw Jane, is also available with the third due in 2017. The story arc is a nod to the American Revolution, but with space colonists as the Yankees and Earth as the redcoats. A reader can expect to find an element of fantasy and sweet romance, humor, space battles and conflict, but no gore.

Florida is my home. The state is a good place for speculative fiction since most people speculate the heat and humidity here have driven residents slightly mad. I can’t argue that. In my spare time I enjoy calling in Bigfoot sightings to the Department of Fish and Wildlife. They are heartily sick of hearing from me.

 

Rimrider is available for 99 cents on Amazon or free for members of Kindle Unlimited.

Amazon

 

L.A. Kelley’s Lurking Spots

Want to connect or find out about my other books? My lurking spots are below or email me at l.a.kelley.author@gmail.com. I love to hear from readers. If you have a blog, I’d be happy to do a guest post or interview. Just want to say hi or have a recipe to share? I’m up for that, too.

Facebook http://www.facebook.com/l.a.kelley.author

Twitter https://twitter.com/AuthorLAKelley

Amazon Author Page

Blog L. A. Kelley’s Naughty List

One thought on “Author Interview with L.A. Kelley

Leave a Reply

