Author Interview Sole Obsession

Standard

soleobsesisonbanner

How long have you been writing? 

First of all, thank you so much for reading my work, I know you have choices and I appreciate it!

I started writing when I was about 6, my Dad was a writer/editor and I thought everyone wrote books. They were magical to me as I was learning to read, and I wanted to participate in the fun. I heard a girl had written a series of books when she was about 8, and I felt like I was being left behind. I didn’t know what I was doing, at all. I was probably pretty awful, but as with everything, enthusiasm often counts more than competence.

 No one starts out a great writer, it is an art that has to be cultivated and a crazy amount of training goes in to really being able to articulate actions and events into a reading format. As I look back, had I known how hard it was going to be, I might not have started.

I was taught to write in many voices, from many perspectives, and usually to leave personal opinion out of it. The freedom of writing fiction, like this book, is that I can sneak my personal views in. Sometimes I like making a broad point, other times they are more subtle. This book has an underlying theme of nature vs. nurture which I intended, but as I developed the storyline I may have strayed from the planned intensity of my original concept.

This was because I had to take a long break half way through the book due having a very ill child who needed my complete attention for many years. When she got better, and I came across the first part of the book among my many projects, I had forgotten my storyline. As I re-read what I had done already, I had 2 thoughts:

  1. Wow, I don’t remember writing some of this, it’s good!
  2. Wow, I was a really angry person back then.

I liked what I had started and I had received a few offers regarding the unfinished manuscript back before my kiddo was hurt, so I decided to go ahead and finish it and see where it took me. I was able to pick up where I left off and am happy with it. I don’t ever foresee a time when I won’t be writing, I juggle many projects at a time and they are quite varied. The satisfaction of sculpting language into an art form which elicits intense visual imagery drives me.

What was the most challenging part about writing SOLE OBSESSION?

That is an excellent question and I appreciate the opportunity to share my journey. Writing a book like this is scary in itself. I didn’t know the reception of the storyline, and I was very apprehensive about writing in a voice I hadn’t explored before. Writers constantly transform as they mature, and I had just gone through a really traumatic time period with a terrible divorce, so I was someone completely foreign to me. I didn’t know what I was going to tap into as I explored certain characters and I didn’t know how it was going to affect me.

I chose to write the bad guy perspective from inside his consciousness and that was a challenging journey for me. I have always known I’m a method writer, but this took me to a place I hadn’t explored prior. A method actor becomes the character they are performing in order to deliver a believable performance. They take on their life and their mind. A method writer does the same. The main issue for me was that I have healthy brain chemistry, so inhabiting an unhealthy mind to deliver the most impactful experience was very hard on me. I had to take long breaks between writing his parts in order to regain my emotional balance.

I love so much bringing to life happy characters with joyful experiences, I glow inside and out when I am creating them. The flip side, is in order to create a believable world, I have to include the reality of life and that’s not always as much fun to bring to life. The challenge is to stay as committed to the process of honestly representing the evil as the joy. It would be easier to back away from that challenge and dial in the bad guys, but I knew my vision wouldn’t be completely realized if I did.

There were other very challenging aspects, but since you only asked for the most, I’ll stop there.:)

What do you enjoy the most about being an author?

Writing is my way of creating art. I suck at drawing, although love it, and I suck at every other form of art, although I am passionate about most of them. Writing is the one place I can bring together the parts of my mind which want me to create beauty or vivid imagery. I seriously wish I could draw, I really wanted to be a cartoonist. Instead, I’m ‘punchline gal’.

My most treasured part of being an author, though, is that I have been able to write books for my kids as they have grown and share them with their schools. I have been able to encourage children to dream and put their dreams into writing. My high school daughter still comes home and tells me she is approached at school about books I wrote and shared way back when she was in elementary school. I wrote comedy books about funny stuff my kids did, and they still stick. I love that.

This genre is not one which I’ve shared with my kids, it’s obviously for adults only. It has been fun writing in an indulgent manner that’s meant to express myself and suit no other purpose than to entertain other adults.

My son is writing as well now, and his brain is way more impressive than mine. The things I can learn about him through reading his stories make me feel so happy and excited for him. My daughter is not the world’s biggest fan of writing, but I can see the influences of advocated creativity working for her in other areas that are very artsy. Enabling my kids to create their own artistic legacies is definitely the greatest aspect of being an author.

-Pam Stanley

Is this book part of a series? 

Sole Obsession is the first book in a series. The series is labeled ‘Wilde Horses’, a nod to the strong and confident women I enjoy writing about. This first book introduced my main cast of characters I am working with in the future. I will continue to develop new people, and they are all based on either people I actually know or interesting personalities which intrigue me.

This next installment is named Miss Match. I am really excited about this project, it has been in development for many years. As a single mom, I have dabbled online looking for my Mr. Right. Once I got over the shock factor of what the types of men were really available to me, I relaxed and checked out a bunch of different sites. Along the way, I have talked to some of the oddest men. I have also met or observed so many singles out and about that I have a really fun database of single dating stories.

The avenue I thought would be funny to explore shows itself in Miss Match. I never use anyone’s actual name, but some of the things I have experienced I could simply not make up. I am so excited to finish this next book, I know it’s good when I’m laughing as I write it. At the very least, I am entertaining myself.

I will continue to add to this series, as my own life has changed over the last many years, so shall my cast. I see a lot of fun to be had with ‘Wilde Horses’. I hope you enjoy its evolution as well!

Do you have any works in progress? 

I am currently finishing the second book in the series ‘Wilde Horses’, and am also co-writing a steamy cookbook with a celebrity grill-master. The cookbook should be quite fun to read as well as to try out the recipes.

I have projects in other genres in which I am developing as well. I have been writing an interesting sci-fi book for teens and young adults, my kids are helping with that. I was heavily influenced by sci-fi as a young reader, and it’s rewarding to tackle the medium. My favorite works to write are usually comedies or self-help material regarding relationships and interpersonal communication.  When I can integrate those into a singular piece like Sole Obsession, it makes me feel satisfied.

In closing, I thank you for taking the time to read this interview. I will be as candid as I can when being asked questions, and I appreciate the time you are taking to get to know me. I hope you enjoy Sole Obsessions and I hope to see you again when Miss Match is released!

About the Book

Sam_So_CoverTitle: Sole Obsession

Author: Pam Stanley

Genre: Erotic Romance / Comedy

A sizzling red hot and very funny erotic romance series starring the spunky heroine Sydney Wilde, presents Book 1- ‘Sole Obsession’. This is the perfect easy pool read book, complete with suspense and comedy, and topped with a large serving of indulgent sexy scenarios. The storyline follows a frustrated woman looking for love, all the while unaware she is the sole obsession of a predator who is determined they shall be together. The Wilde Horses are her group of friends, all sexually confident and happy to share their skills and passion. You will certainly recognize at least one person you know among these characters, if you don’t recognize yourself. The book will thrill, excite, and make you laugh out loud as well as look over your shoulder more often. Enjoy the journey and look for the next in the series, Book 2-‘ Evangeline,Miss Match’… AKA ‘The Online Date Killer’ coming soon!

Author Bio

Pam Stanley is a Southern California transplant to Kansas City, and if you are in a great pub or night-life place there, he or she is probably standing right near you watching for you to do something funny or ridiculous so a good story comes out of it. When not writing, Pam is tossing back beers with friends, running for miles, or taking in any of the fantastic live sports and music Kansas City has to offer. Most of Pam’s friends don’t even know who Pam Stanley actually is. Do you?

 Buy on Amazon: http://amzn.to/1MMsZTr

Leave a Reply

