Author Interview Trapped on Draconica

Standard

trappeddraconicabanner

How long have you been writing?

 

Technically, I’ve been writing since Secondary School, as I wrote and published my own comic back then. But Trapped on Draconica was my first real serious attempt at writing a Fantasy novel series and I started work on that back in 2007 or so. So a good few years I’d say.

 

What was the most challenging part about writing Trapped on Draconica?

Originally I envisioned Trapped on Draconica as a trilogy series – which seemed kinda novel (if you pardon the pun) as trilogy series were all the rage back then. However, after I wrote the first two books, the second one came out with significantly less pages than the others. However, at the time of writing, I got some advice about how writing a trilogy is a bad idea for newer writers – so I decided to make it a standalone novel.

The hard part was going through the three books, cutting stuff out that wasn’t needed and adjusting things to fit the story. It wasn’t easy, but somehow I managed to cut it down from about 1000 plus pages to around 400. And I think the story is better because of it now in my opinion.

Another challenge was that originally I was going to do a Fantasy series where all the “magic” in it was explained in science terms – akin to Doctor Who. That turned out to be a bad idea and it made the story really sound bloated and convoluted. So instead I decided to have a magic element, just tone it down a little. But actually, as time has gone on, I have included more of a magical system into my novels. I guess it’s kinda natural that would happen eventually – it does make for some interesting battle scenes.

 

 

What do you enjoy the most about being an author?

 

What’s not to like? You can write stories the way you want them to go, create worlds and characters and direct their fate – essentially the only limit is your imagination. Best thing about being an author is that if there is a story out there that you feel needs telling, you can create it yourself. Like anything it takes a lot of time and practice, but if you work on it, you have the potential to create some awesome stories.

And who knows? If you’re lucky, your stories may just end up as TV shows or films. That would be my ultimate dream. I dunno if it will ever happen, but we can live in hope.

Is this book part of a series?

 

Trapped on Draconica is the first in what I like to call my Draconica series – of which more books will follow. Draconica is the name of the world that the books are set on. It’s a world that used to be populated by dragons, but now they have died out and they live on in the Dragonkin – four women granted dragon powers. Essentially it’s my main world where I write my stories. I plan to create a number of novels that are part of a “Shared Universe” in the end. I have one other series called Amanda Moonstone which is also set in this world so that’s something that keeps me busy as well.

Did you do the illustrations yourself, or did you hire an illustrator? The cover looks gorgeous!

 

I WISH I could draw as good at that! The illustrations were done by a talented artist by the name of Kirsten Moody – who is a fellow Brit! She did the cover for Amanda Moonstone and I’m so glad she agreed to do the artwork for this one.

Originally (when this book was first published) the art was done by Alexis M Centeno – who actually is partly responsible for Draconica having the anime feel it has. Her art was amazing – but sadly we could not continue working together. But I think Kirsten did a great job with the cover. She’s extremely enthusiastic as well about this project – which helps.

Do you have any works in progress?

I plan to release the other books in the Draconica series this month (there’s three in total, including this one, plus a final book to end the series) and I’m also working on another Amanda Moonstone novel. I have plans for other projects as well – such as my Draconic-Lore series, which will be a series of prequel novels around certain characters on Draconica. I was working on another book independent of my Draconica series, which was a NaNoWriMo project, but that’s been put on hold for the moment. I think I have enough to keep myself busy for the moment!

 

About the Book

TOD Updated Cover EbookTitle: Trapped on Draconica

Author: Dan Wright

Genre: Fantasy

Barely into his teens, Ben Anthony has not had it easy. With his father in prison, his mother struggling to keep him under control and his friends little more than criminals in the making, Ben is already on a self-destructive path. But his life is about to get much worse.

Teleported to the world where dragons once ruled, Ben finds himself the target of the malign Baalarian Empire – of which Emperor Gothon seeks to capture him for reasons yet unknown. Teaming with warrior Princess Daniar Dragonkin, her altruistic sister Erowin and the revenge seeking Leonidan Prince Kalak, Ben sets out on a reluctant quest to find his way home. And thus begins his incredible adventure…

Author Bio

Dan Author Pic 2Dan lives in the United Kingdom – born in the historic town of Canterbury, Kent. He picked up a love of Fantasy stories after reading such classics as The Lord of the Rings, The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe and numerous Roald Dahl novels.

His biggest influences are Douglas Adams, Alan Moore, Stan Lee, J.R.R. Tolkien, Joss Whedon, H.P Lovecraft, Hiromu Arakawa and George R R Martin. He is highly influenced by Anime, Video Games and Comic books. He has also written a fan parody series on YouTube called Totalitarian Warlords and Termination Squadron.

As well as writing, Dan plays guitar in a metal band. He likes all kinds of music—but he mainly listens to rock and metal, rap, some pop music and also film and video game scores. He also loves Disney and Pixar movies—often finding himself singing along to the tunes, or crying manly tears!

He is also a slave to his cat, who takes up a lot of his time when he isn’t at work or writing!

To learn more about Dan and the world of Draconica, visit the following places:

Blog: http://pandragondan.weebly.com

Draconica Website: http://draconicaseries.weebly.com

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/TrappedonDraconica

Twitter: @PandaDanWright

Leave a Reply

