Author Interview Kaitlin’s Tale

Standard
kaitlinstalebanner
How long have you been writing?
Thirty years. And since I’m tihrty-eight, I do mean I started when I was eight! I did get more serious after college in 2003, when I attended a by-audition “boot camp” with Orson Scott Card.
What was the most challenging part about writing KAITLIN’S TALE?
Getting inside Kaitlin’s head. You have to understand that she came to me from the outside as a secondary character in Cassie Scot: ParaNormal Detective. And she grew. And grew. And grew. Until I knew she needed her own story.
But Kaitlin… she’s a tribute to someone I knew in high school. Someone who told me a terrible secret I should have immediately reported to a school counselor. It is, I confess, the greatest regret of my life that at the time I believed true friendship meant keeping the confidence. I should have done something to help her; Cassie was going to do something to hepl her.
But Kaitlin never opened up to Cassie, probably because she knew exactly how Cassie would have reacted. And ultimately both Cassie and I learned an important lesson by the end of the fourth (and final) book in her series: You can only change yourself.
Kaitlin needed to be the hero of her own story.
What do you enjoy the most about being an author?
Coming up with new ideas. Dreaming!
Is this book part of a series? 
Yes and no. You can read it as a stand-alone spin-off, but I personally recommend reading the Cassie Scot series first. You’ll understand Kaitlin much better if you do.
Do you have any works in progress?
Yes, but it’s slow progress. I’ve recently suffered from serious writer’s burnout and as part of my recovery, I’m only writing for fifteen minutes a day right now. Fear not – more books will come – but it’s going to take me a while to get back into writing for me (which is where the magic happens) and away from writing for sales (which is where the burnout happens).
On a positive note, I do have a new character I think readers will love – she’s totally blind but “sees” (feels?) auras. Yeah, I’m still trying to work out exactly how her power works but I do know her twin brother, a healer, is in prison for a crime he didn’t commit so that’s exciting. 🙂

About the Book

KaitlinsTale_medTitle: Kaitlin’s Tale

Author: Christine Amsden

Genre: Paranormal Romance / Urban Fantasy

Kaitlin Mayer is on the run from the father of her baby – a vampire who wants her to join him in deadly eternity. Terrified for her young son, she seeks sanctuary with the Hunters Guild. Yet they have their own plans for her son, and her hopes of safety are soon shattered.

When she runs into Matthew Blair, an old nemesis with an agenda of his own, she dares to hope for a new escape. But Matthew is a telepath, and Kaitlin’s past is full of dark secrets she never intended to reveal.

*Companion to the Cassie Scot Series

 

About the Author

Christine Amsden has been writing fantasy and science fiction for as long as she can remember. She loves to write and it is her dream that others will be inspired by this love and by her stories. Speculative fiction is fun, magical, and imaginative but great speculative fiction is about real people defining themselves through extraordinary situations. Christine writes primarily about people and relationships, and it is in this way that she strives to make science fiction and fantasy meaningful for everyone.

At the age of 16, Christine was diagnosed with Stargardt’s Disease, which scars the retina and causes a loss of central vision. She is now legally blind, but has not let this slow her down or get in the way of her dreams.

Christine currently lives in the Kansas City area with her husband, Austin, who has been her biggest fan and the key to her success. In addition to being a writer, she’s a freelance editor, mom, and foster mom.

Social Media Links:

Get the Cassie Scot Series

Cassie Scot: ParaNormal Detective (Cassie Scot #1)

Secrets and Lies (Cassie Scot #2)

Mind Games (Cassie Scot #3)

Stolen Dreams (Cassie Scot #4)

Madison’s Song (a Cassie Scot Companion)

One thought on “Author Interview Kaitlin’s Tale

Leave a Reply

