Author Interview Emmy Nation: Undercover Suffragette

Standard

emmynationbanner

How long have you been writing?

I started writing fiction seriously in 2012 after I graduated from university, but I have been a fan of creative writing for most of my life. I wrote a feature length screenplay when I was 13 and always had short stories or screenplays on the go as a teenager. Once I left the academic world in 2012 I finally took that hobby to the next level and started working on Emmy Nation: Undercover Suffragette.

What was the most challenging part about writing Emmy Nation: Undercover Suffragette?

Finding the time to write it. The idea had been mulling for some time before I sat down to do it and that required some creative time management. Once I put that time into my schedule, the book was really fun to write.

One of the hardest parts after the writing was completed was sharing it publicly. It feels like a piece of me is out in the world for anyone to pick up, which is a good thing but also a scary thing.

What is your favorite part of being an author?

I love creating. Coming up with characters and worlds and relationships is a fascinating process for me. I also love that moment when something that hasn’t been working in the writing or the plot just snaps into place.

Will this book be part of a series?

That is the plan! The second book, Emmy Nation: Mistress of Disguise was started during NaNoWriMo this November (I sadly did not make it 50,000 words). And, if all goes according to my plot outline, a third book will finish out the series.

Do you have any works in progress you’re working on?


As I mentioned, the sequel to this book is in progress. I also have a cozy mystery novel in progress that will focus on secret societies.

About the book

L. Davis Munro, Emmy Nation, coverTitle: Emmy Nation: Undercover Suffragette

Author: L. Davis Munro

Genre: Historical Fiction

Being an independent woman in 1913 London is certainly empowering, but Emmy Nation is tired of the inescapable damp seeping through her worn shoes and the hopeless grumblings of her stomach.

When she receives an offer from Scotland Yard to boost her typist income by spying on the Women’s Social and Political Union (WSPU), Emmy jumps at the chance. But as she grows closer to the WSPU women the lines begin to blur, and when a painful part of her past resurfaces Emmy begins to question her choices.

How far are you willing to go to secure your equality?

Author Bio

L. Davis Munro author pictureL. Davis Munro holds a master’s degree with a focus on women’s suffrage theatre and works in theatre and dance. She currently lives in Toronto, Ontario, Canada, with her husband and her dog.

Links

www.thesuffragettenation.com
discoveringwritinglife.wordpress.com

Amazon

Giveaway

Win a copy of the book. Go here to participate.

One thought on “Author Interview Emmy Nation: Undercover Suffragette

  1. Reblogged this on Discovering/Writing Life and commented:
    Another interview on Bedazzled Reading! Thanks so much for having me and Emmy Nation on your blog. And if you don’t have your copy of Emmy Nation yet, you can still win a copy of the book! Visit Bedazzled Reading to participate in the giveaway.

    Like

Leave a Reply

