Guest Post Song of a Dead Star

Standard

songdeadstarbanner

Today’s guest blogger is Zamil Akhtar, author of science-fiction / fantasy “Song of a Dead Star”. Please welcome the author to this blog.

Why I Write

There was a point in my life when I knew I wanted to be a storyteller. I had been so enthralled by the emotions of my favorite stories and realized that my life’s purpose would be to make others feel the same strong emotions through storytelling. I wanted to become the best storyteller I could. I analyzed every story I watched, read, or played from then on to determine what made them good, bad, or mediocre.

I would also dream up worlds effortlessly, and I would fill these worlds with characters and stories. At the time, I wondered what medium would be best to tell these stories. I imagined them as videogames, anime, movies, or TV shows. But in the end, I concluded that the most accessible and powerful form of storytelling was the written word.

After having written a novel, I am now sure that my choice was right. Writing allows one to communicate emotions more deeply and powerfully than any other medium. I know that I am not a master of this art yet, but having witnessed the masters, I am determined to become as good as them by writing more. When you’ve managed to make your readers feel the powerful emotions that your characters are feeling, you’ve succeeded as a writer, and there is no better reward.

Fiction also allows you to communicate powerful themes and messages that hundreds of pages of exposition would fail to make clear. My writing teacher once remarked that fiction is “lies that are true.” Through fiction, I want to expose the truth about the human condition with all its struggles and triumphs. Through that process, I think I’ll learn more about what it means to be human.

When I sit down to write, I often close my eyes and forget the real world. I imagine myself as the character I am writing about, and try to feel what she is feeling and tune all my five senses to what she is experiencing in her world. I often forget myself and become absorbed in the emotions of my character. Sometimes when I open my eyes, I am in tears. Being totally enraptured in my character makes the words I write all the more authentic. Though I haven’t experienced most of things I write about, I have experienced the emotions those experiences generate, and I try to convey that as best I can.

At the end of the day, I hope I succeed in making my readers feel. I will continue to analyze the stories and authors that do it best, and try to be as good. Perhaps someday I will achieve by goal. That is why I write.

About the Book

Song of a Dead Star CoverTitle: Song of a Dead Star

Author: Zamil Akhtar

Genre: Science-Fiction / Fantasy

When Kav sleeps, a firefly whispers in his ear that his wife is not dead. But to find her he has to kill the three Magi that protect the land of Eden.

The same Magi destroyed Kav’s hometown four years ago to crush a rebellion, and he hasn’t seen his wife since.

As Kav plots to kill the Magi, a flying armada bent on conquest and destruction invades Eden. Only the Magi and their ability to turn sunshine into magical energy can stop them.

Granted the same power by the firefly, Kav must either kill the Magi to reunite with his wife, or let go of his longing for the sake of Eden and its people.

Author Bio

Zamil Akhtar is an indie science fantasy author and blogger living a location-free lifestyle. He can be found in Boston, Dubai, or Manila depending on the time of year. Of Pakistani-heritage, he grew up in the Middle East and moved to Western Massachusetts when he was thirteen, and his varied upbringing colors his fiction. He has a BBA in Marketing from the University of Massachusetts and an MA in International Relations from Johns Hopkins University. His loves are videogames, science-fiction and fantasy novels, HBO dramas, and Southeast Asia.

Links

http://zamilakhtar.com

Twitter: @zamakhtar

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/Zamil-Akhtar/166211690075437?ref=hl

Buy the Book:

Smashwords: Smashwords

Amazon: Amazon

 

Leave a Reply

