Author Interview Earclaw and Eddie

Standard

earclawandeddiebanner

I’m hosting an interview with Daniel Jude Miller, author of children’s book “Earclaw and Eddie”.

How long have you been writing?

 Not nearly as long as I have been drawing. I have drawn constantly since I was 6 years old but didn’t even attempt to write anything until I had graduated from art school. Still to this day, after 15 years of writing, I am humbled by the term author and consider myself more of a story teller.

What was the most challenging part about writing Earclaw and Eddie?

Earclaw and Eddie” is a very personal story for me, almost a picture book autobiography, so it was difficult at times to make sure that it was written in a way that would be accessible and enjoyable for readers. After spending many years with an undiagnosed illness it was finally revealed to me to be allergies. Thankfully I’m fine. This book was a way for that unpleasant time in my life to come full circle into something great, as well as a chance to hopefully help children realize that life is littered with many obstacles that can be overcome, resolved or at least accepted. 

What is your favorite part of being an author?

For me a children’s book is always only going to be as strong as it’s characters.  As an author, I have the opportunity to create all kinds of weird, crazy, and funny characters that get to be given all sorts of odd back stories and quirks. Telling a children’s story is deceptively difficult because kids are not fooled by bad story telling and uninteresting characters, so it’s a challenge to be able to create a detailed, engaging story that is also told simply.

Is this book part of a series? If so, will there be more books in the series?

Thankfully and hopefully no. Like I mentioned, this book was a lighthearted response to a personal situation that I hope never returns. My time with Earclaw is contained within this one book, I hope to keep him there and I have plenty of other projects that will continue in series form.

Do you have any works in progress you’re working on?

I am currently working on a very large, exciting project that actually started my writing career. It is called “Monsters in Manhattan” and is the first in a series of three children’s books. I will be releasing book one by Halloween followed by two and three in 2016. This story was my first ever attempt at writing and has taken so long to finish because of it’s complexity and detail but will definitely be worth it. Stay tuned!

About the Book

CoverTitle: Earclaw and Eddie

Author: Daniel Jude Miller

Genre: Children’s Books

Eddie is just a regular guy trying to get by in his boring life, when out of nowhere he finds himself underneath a very unwelcome visitor. Earclaw is the unwelcome visitor and exists as nothing more than a crushing weight on Eddie’s head. Faced with this permanent guest, Eddie must learn to endure, accept and possibly trick Earclaw in leaving once and for all.

Author Bio

Dan’s story is a simple story. He grew up in a rugged logging camp of the great northwest. His father wished him to be a skilled tree-splitter but Dan didn’t have the stomach for it. Instead he headed east at age 9 with a pad of paper and 12,000 fresh, wooden pencils. The next 30 some odd years were mostly uneventful, filled with family, growth and other uninteresting stuff. Then, recently, those 12,000 pencils finally started getting put to good use.

Links

Amazon: www.amazon.com/author/djudemiller

Website: www.djudemiller.com

Facebook:  www.facebook.com/djudemiller

Leave a Reply

