Book Review and Giveaway I Am Ella. Buy Me.

Standard

cover-4-1Title: I am Ella. Buy me.

Author: Joan Ellis

Genre: Humor / Chick lit / Romance

Rating: A+

Buy: Amazon

I AM ELLA. BUY ME

‘I am a ginger tom. I am a boy racer. I am a housewife. I am a pain in the arse.’

Ella David is Bridget Jones meets Peggy from Mad Men.

Working in Soho’s mad, bad Adland in the sexist 80s, Ella is a rare beast – a woman in a man’s world, dodging her sleazy boss, Peter.

Based on Joan’s experiences in Soho’s mad, bad Adland, this fast-paced, funny tale is set against a backdrop of Thatcher’s Britain when money trumps morals
and lust is a must. Thankfully, Ella knows love is more powerful but can two unlikely friendships help her go from a girl in the firing line to a woman calling the shots?

Ella David is the hilarious, headstrong heroine of “I Am Ella. Buy Me”, a powerful yet humorous account of the 80s, of the life of a young woman struggling with working on a man’s world, trying to escape the clutches of her sleazy boss, and making her way to the top of the career-path. At the same time, she also has to deal with love troubles.

Ella is one of the most enjoyable main characters I’ve read about. She knows wit and sarcasm like no other, no matter how many times she gets knocked down, she always gets back up. She embraces every challenge, and that made her an easy character to relate to, and to root for.

The other characters were fantastic as well. I didn’t like Peter at all  – what a sleazy, horrible man – but at the same time, I did enjoy reading about him. The cast all has very different personalities, and they make a colorful, intriguing bunch.

If you want to laugh like you’ve never laughed before, then I would highly recommend this book!

Giveaway

You can now win a .pdf copy of the book by commenting below. Best of luck.

2 thoughts on “Book Review and Giveaway I Am Ella. Buy Me.

Leave a Reply

